Reflections of Georgian Bay

A five-day kayaking and photography trip on Georgian Bay with White Squall is an unforgettable experience. Our guides – Sarah, Erin and Meaghan – herded, cosseted and fed us with grace, humour and skill. Our photographic resources – Doug Elsey and Thom Morrissey – were a constant source of information, gizmos and fun that helped us understand the fascinating world of digital photography. My fellow paddlers were a terrific bunch of people with common objectives – fun, paddling and photography (and oh yes, wine with dinner!)

Since a picture is worth a thousand words, I thought a photographic journal would convey the beauty of this trip better than any sentences I could string together.

Monday

A funnel cloud spun its way towards us within the first hour of arriving at base camp

By sunset, the winds had abated and the clouds lit up in a spectacular display of golds and pinks

Tuesday

A quiet cove on the leeward side of an island provided shelter from heavy winds. We beached the kayaks and reveled in the glory of the scenery around us.

Isn't there a Group of Seven picture that looks like this??!

Water lilies smiled up at us from tiny ponds nestled in the giant rocks that make up the islands of Georgian Bay

Evening yoga overlooking the Bay. Can it get any better?

Sunsets reach out like the fingers of the universe, stretching out in glorious colour

And Day Two draws to a close

Wednesday

I just liked the look of this lonely boat anchor on the rock

A low sky and high winds caused us to paddle to another sheltered bay where the rocks rose out of the water like sleeping giants

High above the Bay, five members of our group survey the prospects of leaping into the water. Will they do it?

All for one and one for all.....

You only live once - LEAP!!

Thursday

Many of our group got up at 5:45 every morning to capture the sunrise. For those of you who know me, I am a little cynical about sunrise, regarding it as sunset on a different horizon. However, I did manage to drag my lazy butt out of bed one day for an early morning paddle and shoot. And yes, I have to admit, the light is special at that time of the day.

A lighthouse overlooks the mouth of the river, not far from our base camp

The morning light brings out the pinks and oranges of the rocks against the blue of the water. There is very little wind this morning so paddling was pure joy

Out again in the afternoon, we paddled to another island and hiked the rocks. We were rewarded with grand views of the Bay and sweeping vistas of rock and water.

The rocks appeared to have giant black footprints embedded in their surface.

Yoga overlooking the Bay is an uplifting experience

In the evening, we headed out again, for a sunset paddle. The soft blue and rosey hues of the sky against the trees and rock were a perfect backdrop to the glassy surface of the water

As the dark deepened, one of our guides, Sarah, took to the water

A perfect ending to a perfect day

Friday

Our last day. Where has the time gone? Only enough time for one last early paddle before breakfast, and then pack up our gear. I dawdle, taking a few more pictures before being gently nudged by Erin to head for breakfast.

A final look at the shoreline before heading for breakfast

Time to say goodbye

About Lady Boomer

A voice for lady boomers, Bette Hodgins is a writer, life enthusiast and navel-gazer. Unfortunately navel lint keeps cluttering up her path to enlightenment, but she is nothing if not persistent in her journey of life!
This entry was posted in Favourite Things, Health and Beauty For Life, Photojournals, Travel - Near and Far, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Reflections of Georgian Bay

  1. Mary says:

    Bette
    I fouled up my first reply to you, but mostly wanted to say I think your photos of your trip to Georgian Bay are exceptional.

    I had a trip to Georgian Bay last year, but in a large tour boat out of Parry Sound. I wrote an article about it that was published in the Parry Sound newspaper, The Beacon. If you wish to see it follow the link below. I think you might consider submitting something about your trip to them (or another publication). It’s an inspiring achievement for you and I think broader Lady Boomer audience would be interested in reading about it.

    http://maryemcintyre.wordpress.com/2010/04/13/30000-reasons-to-cruise-georgian-bay

    I will be attending a Writers’ Retreat at Otter Lake in early Sept. I’ll send you a photo of me doing yoga on the dock. Not as well as you do it, but what joy to stretch out those muscles in the beautiful setting of the near north.
    Regards,
    Mary

    • Lady Boomer says:

      Oh my goodness – that is not ME doing yoga in the pics! I WISH I was still that flexible! Alas, I was behind the camera lens taking the shots. Our guides (Erin and Sarah) were not only great trip leaders, but as you saw, wonderful at yoga as well. They are talented, smart and EXTREMELY photogenic young women!

      • Mary says:

        Betty,
        That’s so funny. I thought it was you! That’s okay, you were doing yoga and photography. I’m still going to send you pics of our northern yoga on the dock at Otter Lake.

      • Lady Boomer says:

        Well, thanks for the compliment – I WISH that was me! I look forward to pics of YOU doing yoga though!

  2. Bette
    These images are beautiful and evoke the spirit of the place. I feel like I’m right there on the Bay.

    Also, delighted to hear that your trip was such a wonderful time!

  3. LADYBEADER says:

    Fantastic photos! Looking at those pics make me long for Georgian Bay and Ontario north again. Glad you had a good trip, even though the first hour looked so ominous!

  4. VJ says:

    Wow!!! Those are amazing pictures! What a beautiful trip. I wish you’d been with me in Newfoundland to take those kind of pictures.

  5. Sherril McConkey says:

    Amazing journey and photos…looking forward to hearing all about your excursion over a glass of wine!

  6. Jacqueline says:

    Love the pics, Bette … looking forward to the next photo adventure!

Leave a Reply

