A Natural Woman

Photo by Marnie Denton

Later today I leave for a five day kayaking/digital photography trip in Georgian Bay with White Squall Outfitters. Good thing we are staying in cabins at night, because I seem to have lost the knack for packing light. If we were moving from campsite to campsite, like I used to do 15 years ago, I would need a generator to power all my gizmos and a Sherpa to carry all my gear. Mind you, he might think climbing Mt. Everest was a snap compared to all the stuff I am lugging on this paddling trip.

It’s been a long time since I have done an excursion like this. I have grown more decadent than I realized and more pampered than I care to admit. Witness the checklist I went through yesterday as I prepared for the trip:

  1. Touch up roots – can’t be paddling with a skunk-like stripe  in my hairline or I will have to wear a baseball cap all day and all night
  2. Manicure and clear nail polish –  my Swiss Army knife does such a bad job on trimming nails. The nail polish is there to protect the cuticles – really!
  3. Pedicure – get out the coarse sandpaper and scrape off cracked, dry heels. Pink nail polish this time, to hide ugly toenails. Besides they look so pretty in pink.
  4. Waxing – rip a strip of skin and hair off various parts of my body. I suppose it beats other forms of torture but not by much.
  5. Facial mask –  exfoliate the face one last time before I bake it in the hot, summer sun during the day and roast it by the fire at night – should look like well-dried leather by the  time the week is over.

Image courtesy of website, "No Caption Needed"

Then today, I packed. And packed. And packed. You’d think I was heading to the Arctic on the Franklin Expedition, instead of to Georgian Bay for a week. Long underwear, paddling jacket, rain suit, wetsuit, hiking boots and hiking pants, shorts for hot weather and polar fleeces for cool. The only items I didn’t pack are a hair dryer and makeup – after all, this is supposed to be a trip back to nature and I am such a natural woman.

Of course, this is also a photography trip. So, in addition to clothing I packed digital photography equipment and a laptop, and of course all the extra batteries, memory cards and chargers required to keep this stuff operational. I’ve even got a monopod, a tripod and an IPod. We are ready to circumnavigate the globe. Oh, I almost forgot – we need the GPS too, in case we decide to search for the Northwest Passage.

I think I’m ready. Now WHERE is that Sherpa?

About Lady Boomer

A voice for lady boomers, Bette Hodgins is a writer, life enthusiast and navel-gazer. Unfortunately navel lint keeps cluttering up her path to enlightenment, but she is nothing if not persistent in her journey of life!
This entry was posted in Favourite Things, Health and Beauty For Life, Self-Discovery. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Natural Woman

  1. Mary says:

    I’M SO IMPRESSED! I guess I shouldn’t complain about a little treadmill workout when there are Lady Boomers on 5-day kayaking trip on Georgian Bay. It makes me tired just thinking about you packing the car.

    Good on you. I’m guessing we’ll see some photos when you return. Have a wonderful time.

    • Lady Boomer says:

      No need to be impressed! I found my Sherpa, so he loaded the car for me. And as for the kayaking trip – well, there’s wine at dinner, so that tells you how much I will be “roughing” it!!

  2. LADYBEADER says:

    Looking forward to some of your photos. Hope you didn’t forget your sunscreen!

  3. Connie says:

    Enjoy the trip! Savour the paddling moments.

    And, make sure you check your kayak in the morning for small creatures before you launch into the water!

Leave a Reply

