Start Your Engines

It started with a small, insistent rattle that wouldn’t go away, no matter how high I turned up the radio. As time went on, the sounds of groaning metal began to resemble nasty bowel sounds after a particularly spicy meal and the potential outcome was promising to be just as undesirable.  My 12 year Mercury Mystique is no longer the sporty, nimble vehicle she once was (come to think of it, neither am I) and the time is drawing critically close for me to trade her in for another mode of transportation (fortunately my husband hasn’t come to the same conclusion about me.)

And so the search begins. This time around, I want a small SUV for greater visibility, power and traction enough to help me with winter driving and room to carry a kennel (for Tetley!). Last time I bought the Mystique, it was a spur of the moment, “I like the way she handles” kind of decision.

This time, it is a “What do the on-line consumer ratings tell me?” about the vehicles, and “What sort of options are available and affordable?” exercise. Not to mention the all important “What does it look like?” and “How does it handle?” Suddenly the search for wheels has become an adventure in research, complete with a confusing array of internet data and images. The only thing missing in my desk-side search is a holographic road test.

So far, I have test driven a Ford Escape, a Jeep Patriot and a Jeep Liberty. Next on the list will be the Honda CR-V, a Kia Sportage and a Subaru Forester. Maybe the Toyota RAV-4. Perhaps the Hyundai Santa Fe, Suzuki Grand Vitara and Mazda Tribute….hoo boy.

Anybody out there got any suggestions or advice? My zeal for wheels is diminishing as fast as my list of potential vehicles is growing. A sense of being overwhelmed and under-experienced is seizing my brain and a hint of “You don’t know what you are doing” is whispering in my ear. I am becoming confused with facts.

Maybe I should just get my sweet little Mystique overhauled and drive her until she collapses on the asphalt. After all, when inertia around a decision triumphs, procrastination works tolerably well. That is, until the collapse occurs and the moment of truth can no longer be denied.

I can’t quite make up my mind about not making up my mind. The wheels keep spinning round and round – so to speak. If I don’t do something soon, I won’t have any wheels to spin at all. Can someone please give me a push???

About Lady Boomer

A voice for lady boomers, Bette Hodgins is a writer, life enthusiast and navel-gazer. Unfortunately navel lint keeps cluttering up her path to enlightenment, but she is nothing if not persistent in her journey of life!
This entry was posted in Pursuit of the Perfect Car. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Start Your Engines

  1. LADYBEADER says:

    My husband and I have had a Honda CR-V for the past two years. It is a pleasure to drive, a very solid vehicle. We got it primarily for winter driving. It has “real time all wheel drive” meaning that if the tires are slipping at all (ie. on ice or snow) it shifts into 4 wheel drive. I am short, 5’1″; and the visibility with the Honda is very good. I test drove the RAV 4 and although I am a Toyota fan, I found the CR-V to be better.

  2. Pingback: Catch My Ride – Part Two | Lady Boomers

Leave a Reply

