Laser Eye Surgery – Here’s Lookin’ at Ya!

Or not, as the case may be. It all depends on how close you are to my face.

You see, I am miserably myopic and of course because of my, ahem – age – I am also pitifully presbyopic. In other words, I can’t see anything further, or closer, than a distance of about six inches. That’s a pathetic range of vision however with the miracle of modern medicine, bifocal contact lenses have given me the ability to see the road clearly while I drive, and even read a road map if I am lost. Which, as many of you know, happens frequently.

I have worn contact lenses since I was 16 years old. From the moment I woke up until the time I tumbled into bed, contact  lenses provided me with the clarity I needed to navigate my way through life. Never suffering from red, irritated eyes I wore my contacts at least 16 hours a day with no problems.

Until now. I suppose I have to admit that my eyes are no longer willing to accept the presence of contacts for more than a few hours.  The rigid, gas permeable lenses that I wear (because of astigmatism) are no longer comfortable and they now have a tendency to “fog over” with a protein film in a very short space of time.

Out of sheer necessity I have been wearing my glasses more often. But my vision is not as good, I frequently knock them off my face, and when I get hot and sweaty they fall down my nose and I lose my vision – not a good thing when you are training in a martial art.

So, my latest quest is to check out laser eye surgery. Tomorrow I go to my first consultation to “see” (s’cuse the pun!) what the experts have to say. Off to Lasik MD as my first stop, and then to Herzig for another, I will consult, compare and who knows….maybe even have the surgery. Wouldn’t it be GREAT to be able to see without contact lenses or glasses??!!

About Lady Boomer

A voice for lady boomers, Bette Hodgins is a writer, life enthusiast and navel-gazer. Unfortunately navel lint keeps cluttering up her path to enlightenment, but she is nothing if not persistent in her journey of life!
This entry was posted in Health and Beauty For Life, Laser Eye Surgery. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laser Eye Surgery – Here’s Lookin’ at Ya!

  1. Carley Jay says:

    I’ll watch with interest!

  2. Pingback: The Eyes Have It | Lady Boomers

  3. Pingback: Should You Have Laser Eye Surgery? | Lady Boomers

Leave a Reply

