Someone Else Is Trying to Drive My Car

You know the feeling. You look in your rear view mirror because you have the feeling that someone is trying to drive your car – and sure enough, there is a driver behind you that is so close you can’t even read his licence plate.

Why do people think that tailgating will make you speed up or drive differently? Well, in some ways they are right – they DO make me drive differently.

For one thing, I only drive with my left hand on the steering wheel, because the right hand is waving to the driver behind me, with one finger raised to make sure he can see me.

And of course, because that other driver is SO anxious to help me drive my car, I slow right down to make it easier for them to see my other hand signals. After all, communication should be two-way and I only want to ensure that they understand what I am trying to say.

The tailgaters seem to particularly like it when I flash my brake lights at them, to show my appreciation for their assistance. I see their hands go up and down in a curious display of vigorous activity, and it appears that they are expressing their joy at being of help to a helpless woman driver when I see their lips moving rapidly in time with their pumping fists.

It’s so nice to know that there are people out there who just want to be helpful to others on the road.

About Lady Boomer

A voice for lady boomers, Bette Hodgins is a writer, life enthusiast and navel-gazer. Unfortunately navel lint keeps cluttering up her path to enlightenment, but she is nothing if not persistent in her journey of life!
This entry was posted in Dolts and Dunderheads. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Someone Else Is Trying to Drive My Car

  1. Carley Jay says:

    I usually just slow down and smile! They eventually honk and pass and give me the nicest wave.

    • Linda says:

      Don’t raise the finger – I was almost beat up by some South Oshawa creep when I did that! So now when I’m being tail-gated, I just picture a white light around my car, protecting the vehicle and me inside it. It sounds crazy, but it works – look in the rearview mirror, and the car behind has retreated to a more sensible distance!.

      • Carley Jay says:

        Linda, I thought I was the only one who did that – wrapping my car in a “light cushion”. I’ve done it on the 401 when the car behind didn’t understand the concept of two chevrons; I’ve also wrapped my car during times of foul winter weather. Remarkably effective. Thanks for reminding me.

      • Lady Boomer says:

        Your idea is definitely more peace-provoking than my one-fingered salute! I’ll try it next time and thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

